Friday, July 18, 2014

Guest Post: The worlds of Rachel Starr Thomson

by Rachel Starr Thomson

This week’s feature—ABADDON’S EVE—is Book 1 of a new series called The Prophet Trilogy. Fans will have to wait until August to read Book 2, but in the meantime, Rachel Starr Thomson’s prolific pen has produced many other exciting, thought-provoking, and sometimes humorous stories—whole worlds, in fact.

Rachel’s most popular series to date is The Seventh World Trilogy. WORLDS UNSEEN, BURNING LIGHT, and COMING DAY are set in a fantasy world that owes its milieu to medieval, Reformation, and Victorian Europe and Great Britain. Its characters, with Maggie Sheffield at the helm, find themselves at the center of a centuries-old war between powers that underlie their world.

What are readers saying about the Seventh World?

By Henry C. Martin "Dreamwriter"
Talk about being blindsided! I was quickly drawn into another world where evil was attempting to finalize its grip on a darkened world.
5 stars. Amazing Well-Written Fiction like C.S. Lewis - you won't be disappointed!
By S. Walker
Amazing well-written fiction of the likes of C.S. Lewis, Chronicles of Narnia, and easier to read than J.R.R.Tolkien. I have been looking for good fantasy fiction that depicts good versus evil, especially with the twist of the "unseen realm". Rachel Starr Thomson nailed it beautifully! She gives us characters we can care about, plot lines that are well thought out and conflict that resonates with our souls. In the midst of it, she also causes us to lift up our heads and look for another realm - something good that is higher, something good that is coming even when evil abounds. We need more creative fiction like this - that entertains yet holds a deeper mystery of Truth.
5 stars. Fantastic blending of characters, writing styles, intense action and poignant moments
By Beleafer
As soon as I finish this review, I am getting the next book in the series! This is the first book I have read by Rachel Thomson, and it was an excellent read. She changed styles from poetry to dialogue to third person narrative and back again so fluidly that the story was one of the richest reading experiences I have had in a long time.
Then there’s the Oneness Cycle, just released in 2013. The Oneness books are set in a relatively modern world, much like the American west coast in the 1990s. Its characters are the Oneness: men and women who belong to an interconnected body charged with the task of holding darkness at bay in the universe. The Oneness Cycle—EXILE, HIVE, ATTACK, RENEGADE, and RISE—are a fascinating and thought-provoking set of stories that, in a world of very real spiritual warfare, may prove to be surprisingly relevant.
Here’s just some of the early reader response:
5 stars. The fiction I've waited for my whole life!!!
By Mercy Hope
I have tried reading fiction over the years and eventually assumed that I was just not a fiction fan. This series has changed my mind!! I am HOOKED! I just got book 2: "Hive" and cannot wait to start it! I am going to be reading every book in this series. I have been recommending it to all my friends. Imaginative, insightful and brilliant. Loved the twists and turns, but also how much I could relate to certain characters. I recommend this even to readers who think they are not fiction fans!
5 stars Gripping plot, great characters
By Phyllis H. Wheeler
Rachel Starr Thomson has an engrossing story going on in this spiritual warfare series, where "Oneness" warriors fight demon-possessed people under no certainty of winning. Highly recommended.
5 stars. Good versus Evil
By A Navy Vet
Some belong to the "Oneness" and some don't want to become one of them. Conversely, the Hive is buzzing with evil and searching for new members.
This is an intriguing read that has a wonderful cast of characters . . . Found this a fascinating read and the inherent message that one is "never alone" resonates true with me. Pray, pray, pray. And, as the ending illustrates sometimes it is the "power of the unexpected" that will be the greatest surprise to others.
5 stars. Fast Paced
By Alexis
Plot twists and lots of edge-of-your-seat action, I had a hard time putting it down! Waiting with great anticipation for the next in the series. Christians will appreciate the deeper meanings woven throughout the story, I know I found myself relating to each character at different points in the story; their struggles are real life and the Author does a beautiful job of developing each character and drawing you in. Gently, the Author places timeless truths in a non-preachy way for the reader to meditate on as they read.

But that’s not all. Whether it’s the haunting love story of TAERITH, the heartwarming coming-of-age tale ANGEL IN THE WOODS, the humorous romp of LADY MOON, or the old-fashioned adventure of REAP THE WHIRLWIND, Rachel’s books are full of intriguing characters, unforgettable places, and gripping stories, plus her signature insight and lyrical writing style.

The Prophet Trilogy will wind up this fall with Book3, BELOVED. In the meantime, there are worlds to explore.

No comments:

Post a Comment